A history of Knights Meats
Tales of bawdy female hoteliers, a secret underground cellar and a business ruined by the Suez Canal Crisis are part of the story of one of Wagga Wagga’s most recognised landmarks.
Originally the site of The Golden Fleece Hotel in the 1880’s, the iconic Knights Meats building at 187 Fitzmaurice Street has a rich history that has shaped the business into what it is today.
Greg Knight relocated his family to Wagga Wagga from Newcastle in 1964 and opened the first Knights Meats Butchery at 192 Baylis Street. At the time, Wagga’s population was around 26,000 and there were 26 butcher shops.
The Knight family purchased and renovated the empty building in 1973 for wholesale trading where carcasses were broken down and cut to deliver to the retail shopfronts to sell. Shopfront trading commenced in the current building on 10 January 1974 with a number of changes and extensions following over the years.
Knights Meats was sold after 35 years of trading to the McNaughton family in 2009.